confidence · courage · inspiration · kids · Life · school · teens

Like the Cool Kids

Hi everyone & welcome to my blog!!

On my way home yesterday as I was just about to pull into my driveway I heard a song on the radio that I absolutely love called “Cool Kids” by ECHOSMITH. I remember the first time I heard this song maybe about a year or so & thinking, “this is definitely my song since I was NEVER popular”.

For those who may not know the song I’ve placed some of the lyrics below, though I’m guessing majority of you have already heard the song at some point or another.

Cool_Kids_Echosmith

She sees them walking in a straight line, that’s not really her style.
And they all got the same heartbeat, but hers is falling behind.
Nothing in this world could ever bring them down.
Yeah, they’re invincible, and she’s just in the background.
And she says,

“I wish that I could be like the cool kids,
‘Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in.
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids”

In Middle School I think I got the worst of the teasing from kids either making snide remarks, performing rude gestures in my face or the physical approach of just pushing me to see if I would go down…never did though. This all usually came from the fact that I wasn’t dressing in the latest styles like they were & that’s really only because the clothing they were wearing was more expensive than what my parents were actually willing to pay, of course now that I am 41 I can totally understand their thinking.

When I got to the High School I’d say things calmed down some, but I still had kids who decided to make comments until one day during a study hall I had girls whispering things about my boyfriend at the time & basically telling ridiculous stories of him doing things that he had never done, believe me I knew him very well as he did me. After that it basically came down to me fighting with this other girl because she pushed me out the door and that was pretty much the last straw for me. Believe me though I never wanted to ever fight with anyone EVER!! TRUTHFULLY I DON’T LIKE FIGHTING…NEVER DID IT AGAIN AFTER THAT ONE TIME!!

Thankfully I had had the good sense to quite the fight, without leaving any major injuries to the girl I gave her a good hard push to the ground & she slide into the crowd that had formed around us. I think it may have ruined her pride a little bit, but Oh well. I quickly walked off & headed downstairs to the gym which was my next class. Three reasons I ended it, one, it was a really lame fight (if you call her hitting me in the back while I’m scratching at whatever I can on her good), two, she was basically wasting my time, I was more interested in getting to class & three, I was in fact in my Jr. ROTC uniform & there was NO WAY I was going to get caught fighting in that.

peer-pressure

Upon listening to this song again & seeing the video I almost wondered to myself if it’s not possible that this song can not only be taken as the “unknown kid” wanting to be like the cool kids, but also it could be reverse in the idea that the so called “cool kid” is seeing the “unknown kid” as being the one who is really cool after all.

I know that sounds a bit confusing, but what I’m trying to convey is that in the end all kids & even adults have problems. Unfortunately with kids it’s not always easy for them to find the right person or kid to talk to about their problems, because they know talking to their popular friends will probably get them shunned away, because majority of the time they don’t want hear it as they have bigger problems like boyfriends, girlfriends prom…simple stuff. If they decided to go to the opposite side of the spectrum then those popular friends won’t bother with them at all & so they feel stuck & sometimes lashing out in the worst ways.

cliques

Maybe this is just me rambling on & on about whatever, but I think in the end it really doesn’t matter who you are or what you are sadly “classified” as in school or even in work in the end we all have our problem, issues & difficulties, but maybe if we just have a little bit more understanding towards others then maybe we can all feel better about each other along with ourselves & find the courage to move away from those who can’t find the means to get beyond that one point where all they believe is being “the best”, “the coolest”, the hottest”, and “followed by EVERYONE on social media” means more to them then life itself.

Hope you enjoyed reading. Give a like/star, leave a comment if you like & hope you will follow along for more posts to come.

Have a fantastic day everyone!! ♥

One thought on “Like the Cool Kids

Leave a Reply

